I lived through a period of violent civil unrest in the Socialist Republic of Romania.
Florin Palaghia // march 27th, 2019
Name: Florin Palaghia

How long have you been in Greenville?
Twenty-three years and counting.

Most interesting fact about you: I lived through a period of violent civil unrest in the Socialist Republic of Romania. The Romanian Revolution, was a defining moment not only for the nation but also for me as a young individual who experienced oppression, liberation and hope during that time.

Your background: I grew up in Transylvania, Romania. When I was 23, I arrived in the United States as an international student. While in my last year of seminary, I met and married my wife Amy who is originally from Greenville.

In 2006, our lives changed forever with the birth of our precious daughter Anna. Anna has Down Syndrome and hearing loss. This was a very hard time for us as the news was unexpected. We went through the process of moving from "why God?" to "what now?" as we began a new journey in navigating life together through many challenges and triumphs.

Currently reading or watching: The Hospitable Leader: Create Environments Where People and Dreams Flourish by Terry Smith.

Hobby: Landscape photography! I love traveling and spending time in nature.

I am inspired by the vastness and beauty of nature, and I want to share this with others by capturing the ephemeral moments on camera. One amazing "gem" in the Colorado Plateau is Arches National Park. This place offers solitude inviting the traveler to contemplate and gain perspective on the amazing vastness of creation and human finiteness.

Tagline / Motto: "Live for others"

Who do you work for? Joshua's Way, a non-profit organization located in Greer SC. Within Joshua's Way, my wife and I lead Cross Culture Network, through which we connect international students and scholars with the American community at large. As a former international student, I uniquely understand the challenges that students face as well as the importance of positive connections with new friends in the United States.

What is your day-to-day on the job? No day is the same, but my days include planning trips, organizing weekly dinners, delivering donated furniture items, personal meetings with students, and coordination with volunteers.

How do you think Greenville would describe you in one word? Dedicated

How would you describe Greenville in one word? Amazing

Besides residence, where is your favorite Greenville morning hangout?
Leopard Forest Coffee in Travelers Rest

Besides residence, where is your favorite Greenville evening hangout?
Persis Buryani Indian Grill on Woodruff Road

How was this story?

Receive daily stories in your inbox
PRIVACY POLICY
Subscribe
© 2019 Love Charlie, LLC
Website Curated by Curated Village