We had a blast doing it all - math team, science team, tutoring, study groups - anything that did not require physical coordination
PRERANA ROTH // JANUARY 21ST, 2019
Name: Prerana Roth

How long have you been in Greenville? Five years

Most interesting fact about you: As I am a fairly regular person I asked my husband, Ben, this question and he said the fact that I chose to study Lassa Fever in Sierra Leone while pregnant (Lassa Fever can only kill you if you are pregnant) made for an interesting life choice. He is more risk adverse than I am =)

Your background: I've been fortunate to always have really close friends and family throughout all stages of life. The saying, "home is where your heart is" is especially true of my life.

I moved around nine times before my parents planted in the small town of Louisville, GA for elementary school. My family moved to India when I was in the 4th grade where I formed unbreakable bonds with my cousins as we played together all day and night.

We moved back to the US during my 9th grade year and this time settled in the slightly larger town of Augusta, GA where I had the best high school experience one could imagine. My friends and I had a blast doing it all - math team, science team, tutoring, study groups - anything that did not require physical coordination =).

I went to Chicago for college and medical school; my parents wanted me to get the best education available. In college I studied things like Russian literature, English literature, modern dance because I knew the biology and chemistry would be there for the rest of my life.

Now I am an Infectious Disease Physician in Greenville. I married my best friend from high school, Ben, and we have two daughters. Every day is an adventure I look forward to as we incorporate the best of two cultures into our own family traditions and love our friends and family.

Currently reading or watching: Paradoxology by Krish Kandiah and Mindy Kaling's Why not me?

Hobby: Gardening

Tagline / Motto: "Make plans but always be willing to change them =). As a fairly spontaneous, free-flowing person, I didn't realize how often my plans change- until I've had to explain each change to my five year old daughter =)

Who do you work for? Greenville Health System

What is your day-to-day on the job? I talk with about 12-20 people per day about what is bothering them or worrying them. We discuss options on how to help them feel better and live the life they want to. Then I spend several hours typing up what we talked about. Overall a very rewarding job =).

How do you think Greenville would describe you in one word? Kindred Spirit

How would you describe Greenville in one word? Inviting

Besides residence, where is your favorite Greenville morning hangout? YMCA

Besides residence, where is your favorite Greenville evening hangout? Pelham Road Library

How was this story?

Receive daily stories in your inbox
PRIVACY POLICY
Subscribe
© 2019 Love Charlie, LLC
Website Curated by Curated Village