In my freshman season, I tore several tendons in my ankle in practice and decided there was more to life than football.
LUCAS MARCHANT // november 5th, 2018
Name: Lucas Marchant

How long have you been in Greenville? Born and Raised in Greenville so, not discounting for college, 41 years.

Most interesting fact about you: Some people can cross their eyes, I can make mine shake.

Your background: I grew up in Greenville. After my sister was born, my parents built a home which they still live in today.

I attended Greenville County public schools, which will be the same schools my children are zoned to attend: Sara Collins, Beck and J.L. Mann. I played a number of sports in high school and made the decision to attend the University of South Carolina after an invitation to walk-on to the football program as a punter.

In my freshman season, I tore several tendons in my ankle in practice and decided there was more to life than football. I graduated USC with a degree in criminal justice and following some graduate work, I moved on to law school in Jackson, Mississippi.

Law school was a fantastic experience as I was forced to get out of my comfort zone in South Carolina. Moving to Jackson and not knowing a soul made me feel both excited and anxious, however the South is known for their hospitality and Jackson didn't disappoint. I was fortunate enough to be situated in the center of the SEC West Conference, and I took advantage of that opportunity and visited every SEC West campus for football games.

Following law school, I returned home to work for the Solicitor's Office and was assigned to the Pickens Office. I worked there for over three years and that was perhaps the best part of my professional career thus far. Pickens is a fantastic place with phenomenal people and the office environment didn't feel like an office at all, it felt like a family. I was transferred to the Greenville Office where I remained until I left in August of 2016 to start the Marchant Law Firm. For the past two years I've had a general practice representing those accused of criminal offenses, handling disputes in family court, and helping those who have been injured.

I am married to a Clemson graduate and we've moved past the house divided status except for one day each year. We have two girls who are a blessing and a handful at the same time. I really enjoy being around friends and family, and I love helping my fellow man.

I previously served on the Board of Directors of the Julie Valentine Center and presently serve on the Board of Meals on Wheels and the Greenville Police Foundation. I'm also active in Greenville Rotary and First Presbyterian Church.

Currently reading or watching:
Didn't See It Coming – The Writer's Block Project. (Inmates at the SCDC Facility Perry Correctional located here in Greenville County write fiction, non-fiction and poetry)

Hobby: Playing Basketball, watching college sports & spending time with my friends and family.

Tagline / Motto: Get busy living or get busy dying.

Who do you work for?
My clients

What is your day-to-day on the job? Varies based off whether or not my clients have a court appearance or not, but generally I am meeting with clients to review the dilemma that they are facing, or I am communicating with opposing counsel to work through the issues at hand.

How do you think Greenville would describe you in one word? Focused

How would you describe Greenville in one word? HOME

Besides residence, where is your favorite Greenville morning hangout? Waffle House

Besides residence, where is your favorite Greenville evening hangout? Kitchen Sync

How was this story?

Receive daily stories in your inbox
PRIVACY POLICY
Subscribe
© 2019 Love Charlie, LLC
Website Curated by Curated Village